Your Free Guide to Section 8 Wait Lists

Your Free Guide to Section 8 Wait Lists

Requirements for getting on the Section 8 Waiting List

Section 8 is a federal housing program that provides rental assistance to eligible low-income individuals and families in the United States. The program is administered by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and is aimed at helping low-income households afford safe and decent housing.

To get on a Section 8 waiting list, you will need to apply and get approved for the program by your local housing authority. You can find the contact information for your local housing authority on the HUD website. During the application process, you will be asked to provide documentation to prove your eligibility.

The waiting list for Section 8 can be long, and there may be a wait of several months or even years before you are helped. Once your name comes up on the waiting list, the housing authority should contact you to begin the process of finding a rental unit that meets Section 8 requirements.

Overall, getting on a Section 8 waiting list can be a complex process, and it’s important to make sure you meet all the eligibility requirements and provide all the necessary documentation. However, if you are eligible, Section 8 can provide much-needed assistance with affordable housing.

How to Get On The Waiting List

It’s important to note that each housing authority may have its own specific criteria for determining priority on the waiting list. It’s a good idea to check with your local housing authority to find out what factors are considered when determining priority, as well as any other requirements or preferences specific to your area.

The requirements for getting on the Section 8 waiting list can vary depending on the housing authority in your area, but generally, the following are the basic eligibility criteria:

  1. Income: To be eligible for Section 8, your household income must be below a certain level, which is typically 50% of the area’s median income. The income limit may be adjusted based on the household size, so larger households may have a higher income limit.
  2. Citizenship or Eligible Immigration Status: You must be a U.S. citizen or have eligible immigration status to qualify for Section 8.
  3. Background Check: You must pass a background check, which will look for any criminal history or prior eviction. Some housing authorities may also check your credit score.
  4. Age: There is no specific age requirement to apply for Section 8, but you must be legally considered an adult in your state.
  5. Household Size: Section 8 is designed for low-income households, and eligibility is determined based on the size of your household. Generally, larger households are given priority in the application process.

Applying to a Public Housing Authority 

A Public Housing Authority (PHA) is a government agency that manages and administers public housing programs, including the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program and public housing developments. The PHA’s primary role is to provide safe, decent, and affordable housing to low-income families, elderly individuals, and individuals with disabilities.

The PHA is responsible for a variety of tasks, including determining eligibility for housing assistance, maintaining waiting lists for housing programs, and providing rental subsidies to eligible families. They also inspect and maintain the properties they manage and ensure that residents comply with program requirements.

You may apply to more than one Public Housing Authority (PHA) in your area. Each PHA is a separate entity with its own waiting list and application process, so you can apply to as many PHAs as you wish. Because the demand for rental assistance is so high, it is normal to find long waiting lists. It’s important to remember that if you apply to multiple PHAs and are approved for a voucher from one PHA while still on the waiting list of another, you may lose your place on the waiting list of the second PHA.

Priority on the waiting list can vary depending on the organization or service you are seeking. Typically, priority may be given to individuals who:

  • Are in a vulnerable or at-risk population.
  • Have a disability or chronic health condition.
  • Are experiencing homelessness.
  • Are extremely low-income.
  • Have children or dependents to care for.

How to Check For Openings in Your Area

To participate in the Section 8 program, eligible households must apply through their local Public Housing Authority (PHA). The PHA determines eligibility based on income, family size, and other factors, and if approved, issues a voucher that the household can use to find a suitable housing unit. The household is responsible for finding a rental property that meets the program’s requirements, such as rent affordability and housing quality, and the landlord must agree to participate in the program.

The amount of rental assistance provided by the Section 8 program is based on the family’s income and the local housing market. The program pays the difference between the tenant’s portion of the rent and the total rent charged by the landlord, up to a certain limit.

To check for Section 8 openings in your area, you can follow these steps:

  1. Visit the HUD website: The HUD website provides information on the Section 8 program and has a search tool that allows you to find housing authorities in your area. 
  2. Contact your local housing authority: Once you have identified the housing authority in your area, you can contact them directly to inquire about Section 8 openings. You can find their contact information on the HUD website or by searching online.
  3. Check local classified ads: Many landlords who accept Section 8 vouchers will advertise their rental properties in local classified ads.

Once you are on the waiting list, you will be responsible for keeping your contact information up to date with the housing authority and responding promptly to any requests for additional information or documentation. If you move to the top, you will be responsible for finding a rental property that accepts Section 8 vouchers and complying with all program rules and regulations.

If you have any questions about the waiting list or need more information, you can contact the proper Public Housing Authority in your state. Search for your state’s PHAs using the HUD’s website here: 

Did you find this information useful?

Thanks for your feedback!

You also may be interested in

View all